The Value of Faith

God has taught me recently that there are certain things which are only obtained through faith – and they need to come through faith (even if suffering is involved) because faith has great value.

As you read this post, I’d like you to consider, “What is it in my life that God can only achieve through my total and complete trust in Him?” Also consider, “Do I view my faith as more valuable than gold?”

1 Peter 1:6-7 says: “In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.”

Years ago, I broke my nose and didn’t know it. I also have bad allergies. A few years ago I began to develop frequent sinus infections and it became difficult to do my job (part of my job is singing and speaking), and just live daily life with significant distraction.

For years I prayed for God to heal me alongside seeking medical attention. My symptoms lessoned but didn’t go away entirely.

I had fears about undergoing surgery – as safe as it is, anesthesia requires you to give up control of your life for a period of time (as if we have any control anyways!). I also had to work through questions such as: would the surgery work? Would it make things better or worse? Would I sound differing singing, speaking etc.? Can I afford the surgery?

All of the sudden this fall I got to the place where I realized there was no other way forward but through surgery. When I pictured surgery on the calendar, a weight was lifted off of me.

Long story short, God was in the entire process. As soon as I scheduled the surgery in faith, He connected me to others who had the same surgery performed by the same surgeon with great results. He provided the money to pay the surgeon’s advance bill when I prayed. He was with me before, during, and after surgery.

Three weeks post-op I was very discouraged as I was still very swollen and seemingly not getting better. I prayed for God to heal me and surrendered again in faith – “Lord You led me to this surgery and provided for it – please keep healing me!” Two days later, the swelling started to decrease. Each day since then, I’m getting more and more airflow. I led worship for the first time this past weekend, and although I was sore afterwards, it’s never been more effortless to sing.

Could God have healed me instantly? YES! And that would have required great faith to believe.

However, He wanted me to exercise faith in another way – to release control of my life into the hands of doctors, anesthesiologists (ultimately His hands working through others). He wanted me to see Him provide financially.

None of this could have taken place through an instant healing. He needed me to go through the process of faith.

What is it in your life right now that requires a process of faith?

Surrender to Him and trust Him – it’s worth it.

Your faith. Is worth it. It’s worth more than anything money can buy.

Leave a Reply

