Enter His Gates with Thanksgiving

Before heading into the craze of what Christmas time can become, let’s not forget to pause and give thanks during this season of Thanksgiving.

I love Psalm 100:

1Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. 2Worship the Lord with gladness; come before Him with joyful songs. 3Know that the Lord is God. It is He who made us, and we are His (or “not we ourselves”); we are His people, the sheep of His pasture. 4Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name. 5For the Lord is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.

A few months ago verse 4 jumped out at me like never before. As I was reading it, the Holy Spirit caused the phrase, “enter His gates with thanksgiving” to leap off the page into my heart. It was as if He was saying, “Andrew, do you want to enter my gates? Do you want to be in My presence? The way you enter into My presence is through giving Me thanks.”

We can always find something to complain about, but we can also always find something to be thankful for. For a while, giving thanks to God was a discipline for me, but once it became a habit, it’s been the way I enter into His presence each day. Sometimes it’s simple and sometimes it’s profound, but giving Him thanks has become the gate for me.

Verse 3 says that it is God who made us and we are His.

He wants to spend time with you.

My challenge to you through Thanksgiving day next week is to begin your day by giving thanks to God for specific ways He’s blessed you (could be a relationship, a thing, a means of provision, etc.).

I bet He’ll open the gate for you into His presence.

Linger there for a while and spend time with Him. It is there that our life is transformed, and peace is found in a world in which Jesus said we’d have trouble (John 16:33).

 

Leave a Reply

