5 Psalms For This Summer (Psalm 8)

In Psalm 8 we see two declarations: 1) that God is majestic and set apart as the divine Creator, and  2) that man is His prized creation. Man is just a “little lower than the heavenly beings” and He has made us ruler over the works of His hands.

The highlight of this Psalm to me comes in verses 3-4 when the Psalmist basically says, “God, when I consider your massive creation, who am I to you? How is it that you think and care for me, a small being in the midst of all You’ve created?”

My challenge to you is to go outside one night this week and look at the stars. Really soak in the vast expanse of the sky. Observe. Then, pull out this Psalm and talk to Jesus based on however your heart leads. Some thoughts for prayer might be along the lines of saying something like, “God, I know that I am so small in comparison to Your mighty creation. Your name is majesty as this Psalm declares. While I feel small in light of all You’ve made, I know that You say I’m your most important creation and that You love me. I don’t deserve that love, but I receive it and I praise You in return.”

Maybe a song like “How Great Thou Art” would flow from your heart to God as you’re under the stars.

Mostly, just take advantage of a warm summer night by looking at the stars, prayerfully reading this Psalm, and spending some time with God. Whether you have 5 or 45 minutes, it will be time well spent.

 

 

 

For the director of music. According to gittith . A psalm of David. 
F16
1 O LORD , our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!

You have set your glory
above the heavens.
2 From the lips of children and infants
you have ordained praise F17
because of your enemies,
to silence the foe and the avenger.

3 When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,
4 what is man that you are mindful of him,
the son of man that you care for him?
5 You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings F18
and crowned him with glory and honor.

6 You made him ruler over the works of your hands;
you put everything under his feet:
7 all flocks and herds,
and the beasts of the field,
8 the birds of the air,
and the fish of the sea,
all that swim the paths of the seas.

9 O LORD , our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!

Leave a Reply

