Our Desperate Need for Thanksgiving

Image-1

In my adult life I look forward to Thanksgiving more and more each year. The older I get, the more I see the need I have to give thanks, and while I try to begin each day with giving thanks to God, the holiday of Thanksgiving helps me reset the deck if I’ve gotten off track.

The other day I was outside raking leaves. I spent some time thanking God for a variety of things and then listened to some worship music. My heart was instantly changed – peace and joy replaced worry and stress.

When we are thankful, we realize all that we do have and are sure of, instead of what we don’t have or aren’t sure of.

Romans 1:21 says, “For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened.”

When we stop giving thanks to God, it can be an open door to a darkened heart.

So, today let’s realize what we do have and are sure of and give thanks to God in two different ways as we see illustrated in Psalm 111:

1) Provision. Psalm 111:5 says, “He provides food for those who fear him.” Most of us reading this aren’t worried about where our next meal is coming from. We have clothing and a place to sleep at night. Take some time to thank God for how He’s provided for you this past year.

2) Salvation. Psalm 111:9 says, “He sent redemption to his people.” We all need a Savior, and God provided One for us in Christ. Where did you experience the most brokenness in your life this past year? Spend some time thanking God for redemption through Christ and how it brought wholeness to that part of your life and every other broken place in you.

Finally, and most importantly, how can Thanksgiving become a catalyst for giving thanks to God all year long? For me, I regularly use the acronym P.R.A.Y. which begins with thanksgiving. Although I’m far from perfect with it, giving thanks regularly has truly transformed me on the inside. Mostly, I’m more content.

And that is why we desperately need Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

