Who Am I Trying to Please?

Screen-shot-2013-04-03-at-2.44.23-PM

If I’m being honest, I can be a real people-pleaser most of the time. But the longer life goes on, the more I realize that I cannot please everyone.

In His letter to the Galatians, Paul expresses the fact that he is “astonished” that the people turned so quickly away from the actual gospel to some other gospel (which he says is really “no gospel at all”). He assures them that the gospel of Jesus Christ crucified and alive again (the actual gospel), is something that was not made up by a man, but revealed to him by God.

And right in the thick of this passage he says, “Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ” (Galatians 1:10).

Wow. Those are some powerful words. If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.

When it comes to the way we lead our families and the church, we need to seek to please Christ first. Always.

In the book of Colossians, Paul says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward” (Colossians 3:23-24).

Our ultimate reward is with Christ, not a person.

While this is so hard to remember sometimes, I’m trying to meditate on verses like the above ones as a reminder that while I cannot please everyone in this life, I can aim to please Christ. I have a long way to go in this but am praying to be changed from the inside out.

What’s one thing you know He’s asking you to please Him in right now? Do it with that aim in mind. Pray that He will make your first desire to please Him always in everything.

Leave a Reply

