Daily, or Future Bread?

1721353-XKVANZLW-7

I worry about money sometimes. This past week we received a fairly substantial unexpected bill and I found myself inwardly agitated for a few days. We had the money to cover it in our emergency fund, but I didn’t want to let that fund get “too low.”

A few days later, the Lord’s Prayer was part of one of the texts I was reading and the phrase, “give us today our daily bread” jumped off the page to me. The reality is that Jesus had already provided our daily bread for this bill. I was trusting more in a number in an account than in Him to provide my daily need.

I realized that when I’m worrying about money it’s usually because my focus is on tomorrow’s bread, three years from today’s bread, or retirement bread – Jesus says to simply trust in Him for today’s bread. Yes, saving is good and Proverbs would affirm that, but when Jesus has already provided for a problem and we are worried, then something is off. Saving is good, but we ought to be content and joyful with our daily bread.

I think a good action step for us to take with this issue is to pray through Philippians 4:6-7:

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

According to this passage we can take said financial worry and say “Jesus, I’m not gonna worry about this. Thank you for this challenge and how it is leading me to rely upon you. I ask that you would take this burden from me and have your way in it – work in it powerfully. Replace this worry with your perfect peace as I surrender it to you, and guard my heart and my mind in the process. Amen.”

Take your financial worries to Him and trust Him for your daily bread – one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

