Behind the Album (Part 1: Planning and People-Pleasing)

cdcoversmall

On September 14th, our church is releasing a live hymns album called This is Our Story: Hymns of Our Faith. It’s been in the works for over a year, and between now and the release I’d like to share a series of posts on what God has been teaching me throughout the process of this project.

There were three basic phases to the project:

1) Planning and Preparation (July 2013 – January 2014)

2) Recording (March – April 2014)

3) Post-Production (April – September 2014)

This post will cover the first phase and two subsequent posts will cover the others.

Last summer I felt that God made it very clear to me to do this project with our entire team – about twenty people. Even though I heard this word from Him in July, I didn’t meet with my team to cast the vision for the project until November. Mostly, this was because I was worried about what they would think. Would they buy into the vision? Could we really pull this off? Will people be upset if they are on it less than others?

There was no way for me to please everyone. Yet, I had to move forward because I knew this would be good for our team, our congregation, and the Refuge of Hope (where all the profits from the album are going – click here for more info).

The primary thing I learned in the planning phase was that I’m a people-pleaser, and that I wasn’t going to be able to stay in that mode if this project was ever going to be finished. Someone was going to have to make some decisions along the way. Galatians 1:10 says, “Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

While I tried my best to be conscious of others throughout the entire project, God made it clear from the get-go that I needed to do this project for Him first, and others second.

In hindsight, I’m so grateful for Him teaching me through this project; I really feel like I moved closer to being a servant of Christ above a servant of people.

In the end, my team and congregation were completely behind the project from the beginning. They were cooperative and selfless and immediately after casting the vision for it, I felt less alone and a sense that we could do this as a body. It’s as if God was saying, “See? Trust me and walk in faith.”

In what areas of your life is God asking you to trust Him, regardless of what others may think?

Leave a Reply

