Fresh Bread (No April Fools’ Here)

fresh-bread

I love how God’s word is living and active. Since the fall, 1 Peter 5:1-11 has been one of those passages that I’ve kept returning to because it’s  been so applicable to my life situations. It’s like fresh spiritual bread that I can feed on each day. In doing so, I’m fueled with true words of life. So, today I’d like to go through three things from this passage which have really ministered to me and helped me be a better servant of God. Hopefully, you can resonate with something here and even read this passage for yourself to see what “fresh bread” Jesus provides you with.

1. God wants us to be “eager” to serve. Life can get a little mundane for everyone from time to time. This fall I was feeling a little apathetic with some aspects of my job. Then, I read verse 2: “Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them – not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve.” When I read this verse, it was as if God reset my desire to truly “serve”and that my “job” is really “serving” Him and His people. Every moment with my teams became a moment to serve God by encouraging them and shepherding them. It was so joyful. I wanted to work hard because God wanted me to, not because I had to. My attitude wasn’t quite that I “had to,” but this verse simply jumpstarted the serve part of my heart again in a good way – the eagerness I had as a younger believer returned.

2. We really need to cast our anxiety on Him. I know we know this, but do we do it?Sometimes I catch myself in a frenzy because I’ve worried all day rather than taken everything to God. When you think of “cast,” think of “casting” a fishing lure.  God invites us in verse 7 to “cast” our anxieties on Him because he cares for us. When I do this, I’m much more free to serve Him.

3. The devil is real and is on the prowl. Sometimes I catch myself saying things like, “I don’t want to over-spiritualize this, but…” Verse 8 says, “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” We don’t need to justify that the spiritual realm is real. It is. This passage and Ephesians 6 are enough to prove that. Acknowledge that the enemy is on the prowl. Then, take encouragement from what the rest of this passage says in verses 9-10: “Resist him, standing firm in the faith…and the God of all grace…after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm, and steadfast.” I’ve learned in recent days that I need to resist the attacks of the enemy. When I stand firm in God’s armor, God himself restores me and makes me strong, firm, and steadfast. Did you see that? God. Himself. Will restore you. Amazing.

I pray that these three points, along with other points in this passage can be “fresh bread” that will fuel your life.

 

Leave a Reply

