Reflections on the Big 3 – 0

Well, tomorrow is a big day. I’m exiting my twenties and stepping into a new decade of life.

As this birthday has approached, I’ve spent more time reflecting than usual, as people keep asking things like, “so how does it feel to be turning thirty?”.

Here’s a few of my reflections:

-I’m honestly not upset about turning 30 and getting older. I remember being frustrated in my early 20’s that I didn’t have a record deal yet because many famous bands get signed very young. But God had a different path for me to take, and once I submitted to that path, I’ve received each new life phase with joy. Thus, I’m excited for the future! Sure, my body gets more sore after a pick up game of basketball now than when I was 16, but it’s not like I’m walking with a cane or anything!

-I’m looking forward to this next decade because it seems that the foundation has been laid for fruitful years. Things are more settled at 30 then they were at 20. I’ve gone through the things such as finishing school (and grad school), dating, engagement, leaving home, getting married, buying a home, starting a family, etc. I’m fully settled into adulthood and am ready to go where God leads!

-The 20’s seemed like a time of figuring out who I was and being poured into by others. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still processing who I am in Christ and what He wants me to do with the gifts He’s blessed me with, but this next decade seems to be more about me pouring into others as others continue pouring into me. I’m a parent now. I need to be there for my son as he grows. I’ve led a lot of worship over the years and now it’s time to let others lead more and be there for them for support, equipping, and encouragement – just as others were there for me when I was learning.

-As I journaled about my life thus far, I was reminded about the amazing grace of God and how it has permeated my life. Through the joys and pains, He’s been there and has proven to be incredibly trustworthy. Not to mention, He’s blessed me with more gifts than I can name here and has given me a fuller earthly life than I deserve or could ever imagine.

All in all, I’m excited to step into this new decade and all that God has in store. It’d be different if I was still trying to seek my own ways, but after submitting to Him and discovering how much better His ways are, I can’t wait for what’s to come.

Leave a Reply

