Power Made Perfect

Heading into the new year, YouVersion encouraged Christ-followers to claim a verse for 2014 (read about it here). Through prayer (and changing my verse several times), I finally landed on 2 Corinthians 12:9 for my verse for 2014:

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

I find this entire passage (2 Cor. 12:1-10) to be profound. It’s so counter-intuitive to how our culture tells us to live. We are supposed to be strong and have it all together. Paul says the opposite in this passage – Christ power is made perfect in our weaknesses. It’s Christ in us, not we in and of ourselves.

I’ve been dealing with some chronic sinus issues that have made it difficult to sing at times and caused me to feel discouraged. While I’m working through a plan prescribed by an ENT doctor (and praying for healing), these issues have been a good reminder to me that when I lead worship, God’s power will move in spite of how I sound. I’ve been encouraged and empowered by Him as I’ve observed how He’s still at work on weekends when I feel that I’m not sounding all that great. Maybe He will even allow this thorn to stay with me as a reminder that it’s His power that works, not mine.

Thus, 2 Corinthians 12:9 is my #Verse2014. I will hold the banner of Jesus and His power high this year – especially as it comes to my weaknesses. While I may be tempted to worry or doubt (especially as we are recording a live hymns album this year!), I am choosing to trust that in my weakness His power will prevail.

Let us not shy away from our weaknesses, for in them, His power is made perfect.

2 thoughts on “Power Made Perfect

  1. Love your verse for the year! I, too, have had sinus and allergy troubles. It sure makes it hard for us worship leaders! I found that the times I felt the weakest, I felt His presence and strength in the most amazing ways. Your post reminded me of a post and a song I wrote when I was dealing with similar issues… http://isingbecauseimfree.wordpress.com/2013/11/18/you-take-my-breath-away/
    Blessings to you and I pray you are feeling better soon!

    1. Hi Julie! Thank you so much for your encouraging comment! Your blog post/song were very encouraging as well. It seems that God has used this little ailments to teach us similar things. It’s all about Him, and not about us. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

