The Best Christmas Gift Ever

santaholdingpresentonred476x290As I awake I hear my wife sewing in the other room (making her Christmas dress). I’m in our living room where there are stockings hung above our fireplace and a Christmas tree. My son is asleep upstairs and I remember I’m resting after church. All of these things – the godly wife, cozy home, beautiful son, and church job (and the grace and gifts it took to get there) are all evidence of how His grace has permeated my life.

This all began well before I was born or had thought about God. God thought of me first, and sent His son through a humble virgin, town, and lineage. It was all out of love for humanity and to fulfill His promise to His people.

Without that – without Jesus – the first part of this post would read very different. I’m not sure how it would look, but I’m convinced without the permeation of His grace through Jesus, I wouldn’t have these gifts that I have now.

But the best thought of all to me is this: That even as I continue to mess up, Jesus promises me in Philippians 1:6 that “He who began a good work” in me “will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

The work began with God. He is the author (sending Jesus as our salvation) and perfecter (carrying it through to completion) of our faith.

Now, I don’t know about you, but that is the best gift I could ever ask for! Salvation is not up to me. If it was, I probably would have rejected Him! It’s up to God who saved me and is still saving me. Hallelujah!

May you find joy in this gift – Jesus – this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

