A House Filled With Things I Did Not Provide (A Thanksgiving Reflection)

On the eve of Thanksgiving, I’m reminded of a passage in Deuteronomy:

When the Lord your God brings you into the land he swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, to give you—a land with large, flourishing cities you did not build, houses filled with all kinds of good things you did not provide, wells you did not dig, and vineyards and olive groves you did not plant—then when you eat and are satisfied,  be careful that you do not forget the Lord, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery (Deut. 6:10-12).

Each day this month I’ve been writing one thing in my journal that I’m thankful for. Throughout this season of reflection, I’ve been reminded that my home, my family, the food I eat every day, my job, and the clothes on my back are all things that I did not provide. One can be tricked into thinking that these things come through hard work, and while it is true that we need to work to make a living, God is the one who gives us life and the ability to work in the first place.

Everything I have comes from Him.

This thanksgiving, I am so grateful to God. Every day I am eating and being satisfied as this passage describes. And I don’t mean just food (although I do love food!), but I mean I am tasting and being satisfied through smiles from my son, the beautiful snow outside, a cozy warm house, my pretty wife, the great worship team and church I serve with, and the list goes on and on.

I’m reminded that these are all things I did not provide as this passage says above. This thanksgiving, I am enjoying the people and things God has given me and doing my best to remember that it’s all from Him, so as to not “forget the Lord, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery” – this thanksgiving, let’s not forget the one who not only provides for us in our physical needs, but who meets our deepest spiritual need – salvation through Jesus.

Leave a Reply

