Let Your Words Be Few

I’ve been reading through Ecclesiastes lately which has been really good. Besides the reminder that the ability to find joy in everyday life is a gift from God, this passage has really stuck out to me:

“Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few” (Ecc. 5:2).

The passage wraps up in verse 7 by encouraging the reader to “fear God” or as other translations put it, to “stand in awe” of Him.

If I’m not careful, I can come to God at a hundred miles an hour with all my earthly lists.

This passage has reminded me to slow down and not approach my Holy God so hastily. First of all, He already knows what I need. Secondly, He is in heaven while I’m here on earth. His ways are higher than mine. His thoughts are not my thoughts.

I need to approach Him in humility and awe and let my words be few.

So how about you? How are you approaching God lately?

5 thoughts on “Let Your Words Be Few

  1. This is great wisdom! I really enjoyed reading this! Sometimes we have our minds made up on how we want our life to be so we come to God, like you said, asking all the time for what we think is right instead of asking HIM what He wants..
    Great wisdom here!!

    1. Thanks for your comment. I struggle with this in many ways so my post was basically me writing what I’m learning, but in no way saying I’ve arrived. I’m comforted to know that I’m not the only one wrestling through this! Keep on seeking Jesus!

      1. I believe that almost everyone struggles with the same thing. It takes boldness to admit it though. Keep on letting God use you and he will teach you these things!

    1. That’s a great word! God also invites us to cry out to Him – we see this all the times in the Psalms. It seems like it’s a paradox in someways as we know scripture tells us to come to God over and over (Luke 18), but also to let our words be few. I think it’s a balance and may depend on the season of life we’re in – the cool thing is God knows that and His grace always abounds! Thanks for your input – it’s cool that we are all learning together.

Leave a Reply

