Trust

Yesterday morning I was feeling anxious. Some of it was from normal life stress that everyone deals with, but some of it was different. I think I was actually a little worried about how God felt about me in regards to my “performance” in life as of late. I didn’t realize it until I read Isaiah 12:1-2:

“I will praise you, O Lord. Although you were angry with me, your anger has turned away and you have comforted me. Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid.”

Even though I “know” this already, the idea that God’s anger has turned from me brought supernatural peace as I was reading this passage. The idea that I need to “trust and not be afraid” was a great reminder. God wants me to trust in Him with all things, and no matter what I do, He is my salvation. Rather than giving into fear or worry, He is calling me to trust in Him.

While it’s not bad to evaluate our lives before God, sometimes we can heap unnecessary guilt upon ourselves in doing so  – I tend to slip into this easily. God has turned his anger away from us and has come towards us with the gift of salvation. In Him is true life and peace – which I felt flood over me yesterday morning as I was reminded again to “trust and not be afraid.”

Leave a Reply

