Neither Slumber Nor Sleep

I have someone I would like for you to meet – my son Atticus.

This is Emily and I’s first child and we are thrilled. Mom, baby, and daddy are well : )

While we are more settled now, it was tough not to be a little paranoid at first.

“Is he breathing?” “Was that a gag or just a normal baby noise?”

He did gag a little the first couple of days as he was still working some of the fluid out of his lungs from being in the womb.

One night I laid next to his crib (so mom could get some sleep!) and listened to him and checked him frequently to make sure he was ok. The following scripture came to mind:

“He who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep” (Psalm 121:3-4).

I wasn’t sleeping – I was watching over Atticus. Similarly, we worship a great Shepherd who watches over us day and night. The message translation of this Psalm refers to God as our “Guardian.”

I am thankful that my father watches over me. I am thankful that he neither slumbers nor sleeps.

(Ben Cantelon’s song “Guardian” illustrates this well. To listen, click here)

2 thoughts on “Neither Slumber Nor Sleep

  1. Congratulations Andrew and Emily! Your son is beautiful! He will bring you so much joy it will be hard to contain! Enjoy him, what a Miracle!!!
    Rose and Dirk Wernecke

Leave a Reply

