Loose-Fisted Worship

To truly live a life of worship, I need to be a living sacrifice (Rom. 12:1) and love God with all my heart, soul, and mind (Matt. 22:37).

This includes the way I give, or hold onto, the money God has entrusted to me.

As I have grown in knowledge on how to handle money wisely (mostly due to Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace), I have also felt myself being more tight-fisted with money – mostly so my wife and I can get out of debt.

As good as this desire is, I came into this world with nothing and will leave with nothing.

My reward is in heaven, not here.

Twice in the last two weeks I had the opportunity to empty the cash in my wallet to someone in need. In both of these spontaneous instances, I felt the Holy Spirit prompting me to give all I had on me.

It felt great! Crucial to living a life of worship is being obedient to the Spirit, especially in matters of giving something up that we desire to hold onto.

This can apply to many things besides money – relationships, houses, jobs, etc.

Are you being tight-fisted or loose-fisted in your worship to God?

To truly be a living sacrifice we must surrender all.

Leave a Reply

