A Basic Need

A basic need that I take for granted every day is water. Water to drink, cook with, wash clothes with, cars with, dishes with, boil for tea, pasta – the list goes on and on.

We don’t treat water like it’s gold here.

Some people do – especially water that’s clean enough to drink.

Contaminated water kills 3.3 million people every year.

When I felt convicted to do this Operation 25 mission this year, I knew I wanted to purchase a water filter through Compassion to fulfill Jesus’ call in Matthew 25 to give the thirsty a drink (click here for more on this).

Today, I was able to send $55 to Compassion to purchase this filter – it will provide safe drinking water for a child and his or her family for life.

Wow. Denying myself $55 to spend on some clothes, or maybe a new guitar pedal…and multiple people will have safe drinking water for life?

That seems ridiculous. And it is – both my obsession with spending on me, and how cheap it is to make such an impact.

Lord, make my heart more aware of the things people truly need and less consumeristic so I can help. Thank You for Your word and it’s conviction to the way I live. Amen.

Leave a Reply

